what is teach in ontario about ontario's schools become a teacher in ontario help and contact

   Ontario's School System

  
    






Structure

Catholic/Public
All publicly-funded schools in Ontario are separated into four basic systems – English Catholic, English public, French Catholic and French public. All four of these systems are organized the same way. They are run by school boards and share the same standards for teacher and student performance.

Catholic schools incorporate Catholic beliefs into the student’s daily lifestyle. In addition to including theology in their curriculum, Catholic schools have prayers in the classroom, school masses, and involvement with the local Catholic community. Public schools do not endorse the teachings of any religion and do not mix religious practice with the students’ daily lives. Since Canada has two official languages, Ontario offers Catholic and public school systems in both English and French. This means that there are four types of publicly funded schools in Ontario.

Elementary School
Also known as grade school or primary school, an elementary school usually offers classes ranging from Junior Kindergarten through to Grade 8. Most students in Ontario begin attending elementary school between the ages of four and five years old, but they are not required by law to do so until age six. Children can begin school in Junior Kindergarten in September of the calendar year in which they turn four. Since the cutoff date in Ontario is December 31, this means that children can actually begin school in Junior Kindergarten when they are three years and eight months old. The next level up from Junior Kindergarten is Kindergarten. Following Kindergarten, students advance through grades 1 to 8. During this time, they are taught according to a standard, province-wide curriculum. Upon successful completion of Grade 8 (which generally occurs at thirteen or fourteen years of age), the student advances to secondary school.

Secondary School
Also known as high school, a secondary school usually offers classes from Grade 9 to Grade 12. Most secondary schools split the academic year into two halves. Each of these halves is referred to as a semester. In one semester, students enroll in an average of four courses. In a non-semestered school, students enroll in an average of eight courses. Upon the successful completion of a course, students are awarded a credit. In order to graduate from secondary school, students must meet the criteria outlined by Ontario’s secondary school curriculum policy. This requires that students complete at least thirty credits of which 18 are deemed compulsory. Students are also required to pass a literacy assessment and participate in 40 hours of community service in order to gain a secondary school diploma.

Other Variations
There is considerable variation in the way elementary and secondary schools are organized across the province. It is not uncommon to have some elementary schools that offer classes only up to Grade 6. Students who graduate from these schools will often go to Junior High School for grades 7-9, and then high school for grades 10-12. In some cases and more often in French language schools, students go from Grade 6 to a school that offers grades 7-12 . Other than the way they are organized, these schools do not do anything differently than more traditional elementary and secondary schools.

Some English language schools offer programs in which the language of instruction is French. These programs are known as French Immersion. Some schools may offer both a regular English program and a French Immersion program.

Other schools, known as specialty schools, emphasize specific subject areas such as the arts or the sciences, and are geared towards students who have strengths in these particular areas. Some specialty schools offer extensive programs in technological studies and aim to prepare students for employment.

Ontario also has a number of alternative schools. These are usually small schools, with a low teacher to student ratio, which have a different approach to curriculum delivery from mainstream schooling. Alternative schools often have high parent involvement. At the secondary level, they tend to focus on independent learning and assist students who have not been successful in regular schools.

Special Education
Since some students have special needs that require additional support, Ontario offers a number of special education services. Candidates for special education services are identified through an Identification, Placement and Review Committee (IPRC). Students who qualify for special education services include children who have behavioural or communication disorders, children who have intellectual, physical or multiple disabilities, and children who are of high intelligence (often called gifted students). Students with special needs receive individual support and often work within a program that is more individually designed to meet their needs. Some of these students receive special support within a regular classroom, while others are taught individually, outside of the regular classroom. Still others are grouped in special classes with students who have similar needs. These individual decisions are made by the school or board, in consultation and partnership with parents, according to a student’s specific learning needs.

For more detailed information on Special Education in Ontario, please click here.

Système scolaire
ontarien
   

   
    



Structure

Catholique; Publique

Toutes les écoles financées par les fonds publics de l'Ontario se trouvent sous quatre systèmes, soit catholique de langue anglaise, public de langue anglaise, catholique de langue française et public de langue française. Ces quatre systèmes sont organisés de la même façon. Ils sont dirigés par les conseils scolaires et répondent aux mêmes exigences à l'endroit du personnel enseignant et de la performance des élèves.  

Les écoles catholiques intègrent les croyances de la religion catholique dans le mode de vie quotidien des élèves. En plus d'ajouter de la théologie au curriculum, les écoles catholiques   demandent aux élèves de prier en classe, d'assister aux messes scolaires et de s'engager dans la communauté locale catholique. Les écoles publiques n'adhèrent à aucun enseignement religieux et n'intègrent aucune pratique religieuse à la vie quotidienne de l'élève. Le Canada ayant deux langues officielles, l'Ontario offre des systèmes scolaires catholiques et publics de langues française et anglaise; il en résulte quatre types d'écoles financées par les fonds publics de l'Ontario .

École élémentaire
 
Appelée également école primaire , l'école élémentaire est composée habituellement de cours   qui s'échelonnent de la maternelle à la 8e année. La plupart des élèves en Ontario fréquentent   l'école élémentaire lorsqu'elles ou lorsqu'ils sont âgés de quatre à cinq ans. La loi oblige les enfants âgés de six ans à fréquenter l'école. Les enfants peuvent débuter la maternelle en septembre de l'année civile durant laquelle elles ou ils célèbrent leur quatrième anniversaire de naissance. Étant donné que la date limite en Ontario est le 31 décembre, les enfants peuvent débuter la maternelle à l'âge de 3 ans et 8 mois. Après avoir terminé la maternelle, les enfants fréquenteront le jardin d'enfants, puis après le jardin d'enfants, la 1 e année jusqu'à la 8e . Pendant ce temps, on leur enseignera selon un curriculum uniformisé à l'échelle de la province. Après avoir réussi la 8e année (en règle générale, vers l'âge de 13 ans), les élèves fréquenteront l'école secondaire.

École secondaire

L'école secondaire est composée de cours qui s'échelonnent en général de la 9e à la 12e année. La plupart des écoles secondaires divisent l'année scolaire en deux moitiés. Chaque moitié est appelée un semestre. Pendant ce semestre, les élèves ont l'occasion de s'inscrire dans quatre matières différentes pour un total de huit durant l'année. Après avoir réussi ses études dans une matière, l'élève obtient un crédit. Pour obtenir son diplôme d'études secondaires, l'élève doit répondre aux lignes directrices du curriculum du cycle secondaire en Ontario et avoir obtenu au moins 30 crédits. L'élève doit également réussir un test de compétences linguistiques et effectuer 40 heures de travail communautaire avant qu'on lui accorde son diplôme d'études secondaires.

Autres variantes

La façon dont les écoles élémentaires et secondaires sont organisées à l'échelle de la province varie considérablement. Il arrive assez souvent de rencontrer des écoles élémentaires qui offrent des cours uniquement jusqu'à la 6e année. Les élèves qui terminent leurs études à ces écoles fréquenteront par la suite l' école secondaire de premier cycle, soit de la 7e à la 9e année, puis l'école secondaire de la 10e à la 12e année. Malgré le fait qu'elles soient ainsi organisées, ces écoles ne diffèrent d'aucune autre manière des écoles élémentaires et secondaires plus traditionnelles.

Certaines écoles de langue anglaise offrent des programmes enseignés en français. Ces programmes sont connus sous le nom d' immersion en français. Certaines écoles peuvent offrir un programme régulier en anglais et un programme de cours d'immersion en français.

D'autres écoles, appelées écoles spécialisées, mettent l'accent sur des sujets particuliers tels que les arts ou les sciences et s'adressent aux élèves qui ont des habilités dans ces domaines.   Certaines écoles spécialisées offrent des programmes axés sur les études technologiques qui ont pour objectif de préparer les élèves au marché du travail.    

Plusieurs écoles alternatives ont pignon sur rue en Ontario. Ces écoles sont habituellement de petite taille avec un rapport élèves-enseignante ou élèves-enseignant peu élevé et utilisent une approche différente d'enseignement du curriculum. Les parents sont présents et très engagés. Au cycle secondaire, ces écoles se concentrent sur un apprentissage autonome et assistent les élèves qui n'ont pas réussi en milieu scolaire ordinaire.

Éducation de l'enfance en difficulté

Certains élèves ont des besoins spéciaux qui requièrent un appui supplémentaire. Les écoles de l'Ontario leur offrent des services. Les candidates et candidats à l'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté sont identifiés par un Comité d'identification, de placement et de révision. Les élèves   ainsi choisis sont des enfants atteints de troubles du comportement ou de la communication, de déficiences intellectuelles, physiques ou d'incapacités multiples, sans oublier les élèves qui possèdent une grande intelligence (élèves douées ou doués ). Les élèves qui ont des besoins spéciaux reçoivent un appui individuel et travaillent dans le cadre d'un programme spécialement conçu pour répondre à leurs besoins. Certaines et certains bénéficient d'un appui spécial en classe, tandis que d'autres ont un enseignement individualisé à l'extérieur de la classe. Les élèves peuvent être regroupés avec d'autres possédant les mêmes besoins. Ces décisions sont prises par l'école ou le conseil scolaire, en consultation et en partenariat avec les parents, selon les besoins d'apprentissage particuliers de l'élève.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'éducation de l'enfance en difficulté, cliquez ici .