what is teach in ontario about ontario's schools become a teacher in ontario help and contact

Teaching in an
Ontario School

  
    



Board Personnel

Teachers in Ontario are part of a structure that includes a wide variety of different positions. What follows is a brief summary of some of the most common roles in Ontario’s school system.

Principals
Each individual school is run by a lead teacher, known as the principal. In addition to handling the school budget, principals are responsible for curriculum leadership, maintaining student records, disciplining students, assigning teachers to classes, making recommendations to the school board on the appointment, promotion, demotion and dismissal of teachers, and ensuring report cards are sent to parents.

Vice-Principals
Depending on the size of the school, one or more vice-principals may be assigned to assist the principal with his or her primary tasks. As such, the vice-principal’s duties correspond with the principal’s many tasks. Some small schools may not have a vice-principal at all.

Consultants/Coordinators/Facilitators
Some school boards also have program support staff known as consultants, coordinators or facilitators. These are experienced teachers who are usually experts in one or more areas. They are hired by school boards to provide expertise with program delivery and to design learning resources and curriculum documents. They may also provide guidance to teachers regarding teaching strategies, the design of lessons and assessment practices.

Education Support Personnel
Each school will also have a variety of non-teaching professionals, including one or more school secretaries, who help with the administration of the school, and school custodians or janitors, whose job it is to clean the school and ensure that hygienic conditions are maintained. Schools may also be supported by other professionals such as psychologists, speech-language pathologists, social workers and attendance counsellors, to name a few.

Supervisory Officers
Supervisory officers act as a link between a school board and the Minister of Education. They are responsible to the Director of Education for ensuring that Ministry policies are carried out by school boards. Supervisory officers are also responsible for overseeing principals, teachers and other employees, as well as ensuring that schools are complying with the Education Act and Regulations. In large boards, there may be a number of supervisory officers, each responsible for a specific geographical or program delivery area, such as instruction, reporting and improving academic performance, human resources, building operation and maintenance, and student and community services.

Director of Education
Every school board has a Director of Education. This person serves as the chief executive officer or head of staff at the board. All employees of the school board ultimately report to the Director. The Director reports directly to the Board of Trustees.

Enseigner dans une
Ècole de l’Ontario

   
    



Personnel

Le personnel enseignant de l'Ontario fait partie d'une structure qui comprend une vaste gamme de postes. Vous trouverez ci-dessous un sommaire des postes les plus courants du système scolaire en Ontario.

Personnes à la direction

Chaque école est dirigée par une enseignante ou un enseignant leader, soit la personne à la direction. En plus de tenir les cordons de la bourse offerte par le conseil scolaire, la personne à la direction est chargée de mettre à jour les dossiers des élèves, de discipliner ces derniers, d'assigner les classes au personnel enseignant, de soumettre ses recommandations au conseil scolaire en ce qui a trait aux nominations, promotions, rétrogradations et licenciements du personnel enseignant, et finalement, de s'assurer que les bulletins sont envoyés aux parents.

Directrices adjointes ou directeurs adjoints

Selon la taille de l'école, une personne ou plus sera désignée pour pourvoir ce poste et assister la personne à la direction dans ses tâches. À ce titre, les responsabilités de la directrice adjointe ou du directeur adjoint correspondent aux multiples tâches de la personne à la direction. Certaines écoles de petite taille n'offrent pas ce poste à pourvoir.   

Consultantes et consultants; coordonnatrices et coordonnateurs

Certains conseils scolaires sont munis de personnel d'appui aux programmes, tel que les consultantes et consultants ou coordonnatrices et coordonnateurs. Ces personnes sont des enseignantes et des enseignants chevronnés qui sont habituellement des expertes et des experts dans un ou plusieurs secteurs. Elles sont embauchées par les conseils scolaires pour concevoir le curriculum à l'intention du personnel enseignant et le matériel d'apprentissage. Ces personnes peuvent également fournir une assistance au personnel enseignant dans la conception des cours et les stratégies d'enseignement. Ces postes ne sont toutefois pas requis au sein des conseils scolaires.

Personnel d'aide à l'éducation

Le personnel scolaire est également composé d'une gamme de professions non enseignantes, y compris une ou plusieurs secrétaires d'école , qui aident à l'administration scolaire, et des concierges , dont le travail est de nettoyer l'école et de s'assurer des conditions sanitaires des lieux. On trouve également d'autres professionnelles et professionnels, tels que des psychologues, orthophonistes, travailleuses sociales et travailleurs sociaux, conseillères et conseillers d'assiduité, etc.

Agentes et agents de supervision

Les agentes et agents de supervision sont le lien entre le conseil scolaire et le ministère de l'Éducation. Ces personnes relèvent de la directrice ou du directeur de l'éducation et veillent à l'application des politiques du Ministère par les conseils scolaires. Elles sont également chargées de surveiller les personnes à la direction, le personnel enseignant et autres employées et employés, ainsi que de s'assurer que les règlements et la Loi sur l'éducation soient respectés. Dans les conseils scolaires de grande taille, on trouve parfois bon nombre d'agentes et d'agents de supervision, chacune et chacun responsable d'un secteur en particulier, tel que la méthodologie, la diffusion et l'amélioration du rendement scolaire, les ressources humaines, l'exploitation et l'entretien des bâtiments, les services aux élèves et les services communautaires.

Directrice ou directeur de l'éducation

Chaque conseil scolaire compte parmi son personnel une directrice ou un directeur de l'éducation. Cette personne remplit les fonctions de chef de la direction ou chef du personnel auprès du conseil. Tout le personnel du conseil scolaire relève, en bout de ligne, de la directrice ou du directeur. Celle-ci ou celui-ci est placé sous la direction du Conseil d'administration.