what is teach in ontario about ontario's schools become a teacher in ontario help and contact

Teaching in an
Ontario School

  
    



School Community

Parents
In addition to making sure that their children are present every day at school, parents play an active role in their child’s learning by communicating with teachers and school boards. Some school boards have a local Home and School Association, which provides a forum for parents, teachers and principals to talk about the school system. These associations also allow parents to talk to other parents within their school community.

Teachers are required to communicate with parents. This communication can happen in a number of different ways, including formal report cards, periodic parent-teacher meetings, as well as telephone and written communication.

School Community Councils
School community councils provide another forum for parents to be involved in their children’s education. Each elementary and secondary school in Ontario must have a school community council, which is made up of parents and other members of the school community. School community councils may work with schools to help decide on issues such as dress code rules, school improvement planning and fundraising policies.

Staff to Staff Relations
Teachers in Ontario are expected to work together to uphold a professional and efficient work environment. Any teacher who learns of unprofessional conduct within the school staff and who reports these charges to a principal or school board, must inform the teacher about whom they are making the report, in writing within 72 hours. The only exception to this is if the conduct being reported is of a sexual nature. In this case, there is no obligation to inform the teacher in question of the report being made against him or her.

Enseigner dans une
Ècole de l’Ontario

   
    



Communauté scolaire

Parents

En plus de s'assurer que leurs enfants soient présents chaque jour à l'école, les parents jouent un rôle actif dans leur apprentissage en communiquant avec le personnel enseignant et les conseils scolaires. Certains conseils scolaires possèdent une association foyer-école locale qui fournit aux parents, au personnel enseignant et à la personne à la direction un forum leur permettant d'échanger à propos du système scolaire. Ces associations permettent également aux parents de discuter avec d'autres parents de la même communauté scolaire.

Le personnel enseignant est tenu de communiquer avec les parents. Cette communication peut s'effectuer de diverses façons, telles que les bulletins officiels, les réunions périodiques parents-personnel enseignant, ainsi que les communications écrites et téléphoniques.

Conseils scolaires

Les conseils scolaires offrent un autre forum aux parents, leur permettant ainsi de s'engager dans l'éducation de leurs enfants. Chaque école élémentaire et secondaire en Ontario doit faire partie d'un conseil scolaire. Les conseils scolaires sont composés de parents et d'autres membres de la communauté scolaire; ils peuvent travailler de concert avec les écoles afin de les assister dans les domaines suivants : code relatif à la tenue vestimentaire, plan d'amélioration de l'école, politiques de financement, etc.  

Relations entre collègues

Le personnel enseignant en Ontario doit travailler en collaboration avec ses collègues en vue de conserver un milieu de travail professionnel et efficace. Toute enseignante ou tout enseignant qui est informée ou informé d'une conduite non professionnelle commise par le personnel enseignant et qui signale cette situation à la directrice ou au directeur ou au conseil scolaire, doit en informer par écrit l'enseignante ou l'enseignant qui a commis cette conduite non professionnelle dans les 72 heures. La seule exception à la règle est la conduite non professionnelle de nature sexuelle. Dans ce cas, l'enseignante ou l'enseignant n'a aucune obligation d'informer la personne du rapport qui a été soumis contre elle.